NCT Dream’s Hot Sauce set charts and records ablaze

ICYDK: K-Pop group NCT Dream finally released their FIRST full-album Hot Sauce last May 10.

This was also the first album for the complete and original 7DREAM lineup since We Go Up EP in 2018. The group initially had a graduation system and was only changed last year, bringing its leader Mark Lee back in the team.

The album contains 10 tracks starting off with the hit explosive single, Hot Sauce. The hip-hop mixed with Afrobeat single expresses the group’s hot-sauce like charms and a new flavor showing the hot side of NCT Dream. The song also presents a stark contrast to their bubblegum pop debut track, Chewing Gum.


Meanwhile, the group also performed the B-side sweet track Dive Into You during the first week of music show promotions. Their performance shows off a cool, playful, and laidback yet more mature side of NCT Dream. This track tackles on love and the desire to dive further into the relationships.

Other notable tracks in the album are Countdown (3,2,1), Diggity (first released as one of their teaser videos), and Rainbow which featured writing credits from members Mark, Jeno, Jaemin, and Jisung.

The Hot Sauce album has Photobook version (Crazy, Boring, Chilling) and Jewel Case version (each member). The Apple Music digital album also comes with an exclusive digital booklet upon purchase.

The taste of firsts

Apart from being the first full-length album, Hot Sauce gave way for some of the record-breaking firsts for NCT Dream.

On May 16, NCT Dream finally gained “million seller status” with Hot Sauce, garnering more than a million sales on its first-week, joining the ranks of BTS and SEVENTEEN.

It is also one of the fastest NCT MVs to reach 30 million, beating the previous record held by NCT U’s Make A Wish.

NCT Dream also achieved first quadruple win and first wins on Show Champion, M! Countdown, Music Core, and Inkigayo (the FIRST Inkigayo win for the whole NCT brand). It beat their personal record of triple crown with My First and Last, a song that gave NCT Dream and the whole NCT brand the first music show win ever.

Adding to the list is the recent global recognition with Hot Sauce as the first song in three languages (Korean, English, and Spanish) to hit the Billboard Global 200 chart.

The Dream Team

Composed of 7 members, NCT Dream is Mark, Renjun, Jeno, Haechan, Jaemin, Chenle, and Jisung. They debuted in 2016 as part of the NCT brand, with the Dream unit focusing on youth-centric and inspiring songs.

The group has released EPs, mini-albums (featuring the award-winning We Boom), and collaborations (they teamed up with American-Canadian group PRETTYMUCH and English singer HRVY for Up To You and Don’t Need Your Love, respectively).

Wanna get your hot sauce on NCT Dream? Follow their Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube accounts for the latest dish on the team.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s